Français English Deutsch


The Region

The Dordogne

The Dordogne, is a district (department), in the region Aquitaine which owes its name to the river of the same name, was created during the French Revolution on 4th March 1790, on part of the former province of Perigord.

The Dordogne is the 3rd forestry district in France with 45% of forest. Thanks to its location, it benefits from a particular temperate climate, making it a nice area to live in all seasons.

The Perigord Noir (Black)

The Perigord Noir is located southeast of the Dordogne. With the Perigord Vert (Green), Blanc (White), and Pourpre (Purple), it is one of the four major entities of this tourist area.

Of the four Perigord, the Perigord Noir is the one who has the most important tourist attractions. With its landscape, it's rivers and sites, it is an ideal location for holidays, short breaks and long weekends.

Château de Maraval en Dordogne